Belarus to attend SCO Heads of Government Council session as observer first time ever

14 December 2015

ZHENGZHOU (BelTA-TASS) – For the first time Belarus will take part in discussions during the session of the Council of Heads of Government of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member states as an observer, BelTA learned from SCO Secretary General Dmitry Mezentsev.

According to the source, for the first time the Belarusian delegation will take part in the general discussion in the 6+6 format during the summit of the heads of government. Belarus will be given an opportunity to outline its point of view, its approaches to expanding trade, economic, cultural, and humanitarian cooperation. Belarus will be able to take an active part in interaction in the outlined areas. Belarus will be able to initiate a number of new proposals, new projects that Belarus was unable to put forth as a dialogue partner.

The year 2015 saw Belarus' status grow in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization. Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal became dialogue partners. The number of countries in the SCO family reached 18. “We are convinced that during the forthcoming session of the Council of Heads of Government the prime ministers, primarily of the SCO member states, will evaluate the existing practice of trade and economic interaction. New steps and initiatives will be presented. Once implemented, these steps will allow confirming that economic cooperation is a priority in the organization's development,” said Dmitry Mezentsev.

A session of the Council of Heads of Government of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization will take place in the city of Zhengzhou, Henan Province in central China on 15 December.

The SCO member states include Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. The observer states are Afghanistan, India, Iran, Belarus, Mongolia, and Pakistan. A number of other countries enjoy the Shanghai Cooperation Organization's dialogue partner status.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus